Alabama Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
There are no rental application fee laws in Alabama. This means that there is no limit to how much a landlord can collect as an application fee. Most fees in the United States cost around $30; however, it can also go as high as $150 depending on the area’s cost of living.
What is the purpose of the application fee? Your rental application fee will cover the expense the landlord may incur while running a background check. Background checks can incur administrative costs and may entail hiring a third party who can perform them.
The security deposit will cover any damage to the property at the end of the lease’s term. The landlord may also charge extra for tenants with pets.
In Alabama, security deposits are not mandatory. If the landlord charges a security deposit, it should not be more than a month’s rent.
Likewise, landlords are not required to provide an acknowledgment receipt for the deposit. They also don’t have to set up a separate account for it. When the tenant moves out, the landlord has up to 35 days to return the security deposit (or part of it) to the tenant. Aside from damage, the landlord can also withhold the security deposit for unpaid rent.