Alaska Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
A landlord in Alaska is allowed to charge a rental application fee, but it is strictly limited to the actual amount needed to perform the background check. They cannot charge any more than that.
In general, the cost of doing background and credit checks is between $15 and $40.
Alaska landlords may charge a security deposit for the rental of a property. The amount cannot be worth more than two months’ rent. When the tenancy ends, the tenant can ask the landlord to deduct their final rental payment from the security deposit.
The landlord can charge the cost of repair for any damage to the property. If the tenant terminates the tenancy earlier than what was stipulated in the lease, the landlord can also charge an amount for any inconvenience and loss of income caused by breaking the contract.
Whatever is left of the security deposit after deductions must be refunded to the tenant within 30 days (Alaska Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act § 34.03.070).