Arizona Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
There is no law limiting the amount the landlord may collect in rental application fees. However, Arizona regulations dictate that all applicants must be charged the same application fee. The usual application fee is between $30 and $40 but could be more, depending on the city.
Most rental application fees are non-refundable. The fee is meant to cover expenses for background checks, including the applicant’s credit and criminal history. In Arizona, landlords are required to provide applicants with a written list of things covered by the non-refundable fee.
The maximum security deposit that an Arizona landlord can ask for should only be worth a month and a half’s rent. Most security deposits are refundable. However, if a deposit is non-refundable, the fact has to be explicitly stated in the lease agreement.
Upon the end of the lease, the security deposit should be returned to the tenant 14 days after moving out. Unpaid rent and property damage beyond regular wear and tear can be deducted from the deposit.
If the tenant has plans to move out, they must notify the landlord and provide a move-out date. They can also request a move-out inspection in the same letter to help the landlord determine if there is property damage that needs to be repaired and taken out of their security deposit.