Delaware Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
A Delaware landlord may charge a maximum rental application fee of $50 or 10% of the unit's monthly rent. According to Delaware law: “The landlord shall, upon receipt of any money paid as an application fee, furnish a receipt to the tenant for the full amount paid by the tenant, and shall maintain for a period of at least two years, complete records of all application fees charged and amounts received for such fee” (25 DE Code § 5514 (d)).
The application fee is non-refundable because it will be used for the background check and administrative services.
Delaware landlords may require security deposits, but they should not be more than the equivalent of one month’s rent. The deposit provides security for the landlord—if there is damage to the property at the end of the tenancy, they can fund the repairs. The security deposit may also cover the tenant’s unpaid rent.
Unlike the rental application fee, security deposits are refundable. The landlord must return the unused security deposit to the tenant within 20 days from the termination of tenancy (25 DE Code § 5514).