Hawaii Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
In Hawaii, the standard application fee is $20 per person or for married couples. The application fee is non-refundable because it will be used to pay for the firm performing the background check. The fee also covers administrative expenses.
According to Hawaii law, landlords may collect a security deposit from the tenant at the beginning of the lease. The security deposit cannot exceed the equivalent of a month’s rent.
Unlike the rental application fee, which is non-refundable even upon rejection, the security deposit must be refunded to the tenant within 14 days.
The security deposit will only be returned after necessary deductions. If there is damage to the property, the cost of the repair will be subtracted from the security deposit. Unpaid rent or penalty for the tenant’s failure to return the keys following the termination of the tenancy can also be deducted.
Early termination of the lease agreement will also result in a financial charge deducted from the security deposit (HI Rev Stat § 521-44).