Iowa Residential Lease Agreement Form
In Iowa, there are certain disclosures with which landlords must provide their tenants. These disclosures affect the living conditions, health, and safety of the lessee.
Lead-based Paint Disclosure
Lead-based paints are known to release volatile organic compounds (VOC) that have adverse health effects when inhaled. Though they were banned in 1978, structures built before that year may still have lead-based paint.
This is why if a property for rent has lead-based paint on its walls, the landlord must furnish the tenant with a written lead-based paint disclosure that describes its risks (42 U.S. Code § 4852d).
CERCLA (Comprehensive Environment Response, Compensation and Liability Act) is designed to reduce the amount of contaminants and pollutants in the environment. It puts the responsibility of cleaning up contaminated property on the landowner.
If the property for lease in Iowa is part of the CERCLA directory (more commonly referred to as Superfund), the landlord must disclose the fact to their tenant (Iowa Code § 562A.13(6); 2004 Iowa Acts ch. 1071).
Shared Utility Meter Disclosure
If the leased property has shared utility meters and/or amenities, the tenant must be given notice of the fact. This disclosure will help the tenant understand if there are utility and other payments that will be charged to them during their lease (IA Code §§ 562A.13(4), 562B.14(6)).
Rent Grace Period
There are no guidelines or laws dictating the terms of a rent grace period in Iowa.
However, if a tenant fails to pay their monthly rent, a late fee may be charged by the landlord. In Iowa, the most a landlord can charge for a late fee is $12 per day or $60 per month as long as the rent is lower than $700 per month (IA Code § 562A).
A landlord cannot ask for more than two months’ rent as a security deposit, and they must keep it in a separate and insured account. If there is damage to the room or property beyond regular wear and tear, the landlord can use the security deposit for repairs. However, they must give the tenant a list and breakdown of the expenses incurred.
If the tenant fails to pay rent on time, the landlord can also use the security deposit as payment for unpaid rent. Then, 30 days after the tenant moves out, the landlord must return the deposit (IA Code § 562A.12).