Louisiana Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
There is no statute on the amount of rental application fee that a landlord can charge applicants in Louisiana. The average fees collected are between $25 and $75, depending on the area. Most application fees are non-refundable, whether you get the residential rental property or not.
However, the fee will covers the cost of the background check.
There is also no statute on the maximum security deposit that a landlord may charge. A security deposit is an amount that a landlord requires a tenant to pay at the beginning of the lease. The purpose of the amount is to cover possible damage to the rental property at the end of the lease period. It may also cover the tenant’s failure to pay rent on time.
The landlord and tenant should have a move-in and move-out list to determine damage to the property at the beginning and end of the lease. If there was nothing amiss on top of the natural wear and tear of the property, the landlord has one month to return the security deposit to the tenant (LA Rev Stat § 9:3251 (2021)).