New Hampshire Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
There is no law or statute covering the rental application fee in New Hampshire so landlords can collect any amount they choose.
The fee will cover the cost of the background check, which could be done by the landlord or by a third party. It is non-refundable. However, the potential tenant should know that the landlord must collect the same amount from all applicants. There should be no bias in the collection of fees.
There should also be no bias in approving rental applications. According to the law: “The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination by direct providers of housing… whose discriminatory practices make housing unavailable to persons because of race or color, religion, sex, national origin, familial status, or disability” (The Fair Housing Act).
A New Hampshire landlord may collect a security deposit of $100 or one month’s worth of rent, whichever is higher. The security deposit provides financial security for the landlord in case the tenant misses a rent payment or causes damage to the property.
Unlike the rental application fee, the security deposit is refundable. The landlord has 30 days to return the security deposit to the tenant or its balance after the lease ends. A landlord may deduct the cost of cleaning the property or repairing damage at the end of the tenancy.