Rhode Island Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
Rhode Island has no limit on the maximum rental application fee that a landlord can charge their prospective tenants. This fee is non-refundable and will be used for administrative tasks, background checks, eviction records, contacting personal references, and reviewing the prospective tenant's credit history.
The exact amount is up to the landlord, but it is recommended to be around $30 or the cost of the background check.
Rhode Island law states the security deposit should not exceed one month’s rent. The deposit should be returned to the tenant once the lease expires.
If the tenant has unpaid dues, cleaning expenses, or has caused monetary damage to the premises beyond ordinary wear and tear, the property owner has the right to deduct the costs from the security deposit.
The landlord can return the security deposit along with a notice of the tenant’s non-compliance within 20 days after the termination of the rental contract (RI Gen. Laws § 34-18-19).