Utah Residential Lease Agreement Form
Before the tenant moves in, the landlord must make certain disclosures to the tenant. Required disclosures involve lead-based paint, previous methamphetamine contamination, and a move-in checklist.
Lead-based Paint Disclosure
Whenever the real estate for lease is constructed prior to 1978, landlords must disclose the risks of lead-based paint use. These paints give off toxic chemicals that are dangerous when inhaled by humans (42 U.S. Code § 4852d).
A printable lead-based paints disclosure form must be attached to the rental agreement form by the landlord before the tenant moves in.
Methamphetamine Contamination Disclosure
The landlord must disclose any knowledge of methamphetamine contamination on the property to the tenant. The unit cannot be leased if such issues exist and proper steps haven’t been taken to resolve the issue. (Utah Code § 57-27-201).
Upon moving in, the landlord must provide a checklist of the condition of the room or property and all the furniture and appliances in it in order to have a smooth move-out process.
Rent Grace Period
Local state laws have no guidelines on the rent grace period in Utah. Landlords can charge a late fee if you haven’t paid your rent after passing the due date. However, a late fee cannot go beyond 10% of the rent amount, or $75 per month.
A security deposit is an advance amount paid by the tenant before they move in. In special cases, the landlord can use the deposit to pay for extra cleaning fees, costs of repairing damage to the property, or unpaid rent. The state of Utah does not have any stipulated limit to how much security deposit a landlord can demand. However, most deposits amount to one or two months of rent.
If a tenant does not agree with deductions that are being charged to their security deposit, they must try to work it out with their landlord. If they cannot successfully reach an agreement, they must settle it in court.
This security deposit should be returned to the tenant in full 30 days after the lease has ended or upon early termination. If the landlord fails to give back the deposit after 30 days, the tenant may send them an official notice. If the demand is still not met, the landlord will have to pay the deposit in full, plus a $100 penalty (Utah Code § 57-17).