Washington Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
There is no limit to how much rental application fee a Washington landlord can charge. However, the state makes it clear that landlords should not profit from application fees. The average charge is between $30 and $40. This amount covers the cost of the background check, which is usually done by a third party.
Before the applicant submits the form and pays the fee, the landlord should inform them of the screening process. A prospective tenant should know the type of information that will be collected.
Unlike the rental application fee, a security deposit is refundable. In Washington, the deposit must be returned to the tenant within 21 days of leaving their rented space, but only if there was no damage to the residential property and no unpaid rent.
There is no limit to how much security deposit a Washington landlord can charge a tenant. However, there are measures in place to prevent overcharging. The rental lease agreement should state a provision for the security deposit and how it will be used. It must specify the items that can be deducted from the security deposit at the end of the tenancy.
An itemized checklist of deductions from the security deposit, signed by both the landlord and tenant, is also required by Washington law (WA Rev Code § 59.18.260-280).