Wisconsin Rental Application Form
Rental Application Fee
The maximum rental application fee that a Wisconsin landlord can charge is $20. It is a non-refundable amount that accompanies the rental application form. It will cover the cost of processing the application, which involves a background check.
Wisconsin landlords are also obliged to give the tenant a copy of the background report.
In Wisconsin, no statute defines the maximum security deposit that a landlord can charge a tenant. Before the security deposit is collected, the tenant has the right to inspect the residential property for damages so that it will not be included in the deductions at the end of the tenancy. The landlord must also issue a receipt when they receive the security deposit.
The major reason landlords collect security deposits is to ensure that there is a fund to cover possible property damages or if the tenant fails to pay rent. In Wisconsin, the landlord has 21 days to return the security deposit, or what’s left of it after deductions, to the tenant. If any amount has been withheld from the security deposit, the landlord has to provide the tenant with an itemized list of deductions (WI Stat § 704.28 (2021)).