Ohio Rental Application Form
Ohio Rental Laws
Rental Application Fee
Rental application forms are submitted with a corresponding fee that will cover the expenses incurred for their background check.
In Ohio, there is no limit to the amount that a landlord can ask for. The rental application fee is non-refundable.
There is also no limit to the amount that Ohio landlords can collect for a security deposit.
According to Ohio Law, the tenant may be eligible to receive a 5% annual interest from the security deposit if the landlord charges at least $50 or a month’s salary, whichever is higher, and the lease period is longer than six months (Ohio Rev Code § 5321.16 (2021)).
The security deposit must be returned to the tenant within 30 days from the day the tenant moved out of the apartment or house. However, the landlord can use part of the security deposit for repairs if there was damage to the property—not including the natural wear and tear of the furnishings or the structure.
The security deposit can also be used to cover unpaid rent or a tenant’s breach of the lease.
Ohio does not require landlords to provide a receipt to the tenant, although they are obligated to provide a complete, itemized list of the expenses deducted from the security deposit.